Cause obviously.. Jacob got broken, right?

What exactly does it mean to be broken? I know it’s not sitting there, being emo, listening to “Broken” by Seether and Amy Lee, (which is exactly what I’m doing), but if you ask me, it’s kind of a tricky thing. Superficially, I would say YES; I’ve been broken not once, but many times. I am truly, the real life version of Sally the Ragdoll from the Nightmare Before Christmas. But spiritually, to be broken is something much deeper, something involving a great blow to our natural man, and also, it is once and for all.

I don’t think that’s happened to me yet.

However, looking at the failures of David, Jacob, etc, I have to say I’ve probably been there. Not being cocky or anything, but that’s my humanity- full of holes. So these experiences come around fairly often. But maybe that’s just it: through our failures, we receive the breaking. That’s plausible enough, and yet…it is a wonder that I’m not broken yet.

Well, where it matters. Maybe even this insistence to be broken reveals even more why I’m still not broken. Not enough failures, not enough learning.

And worst of all, not enough of the Lord having His way.

……..Depressing.

Well, if Jacob’s the pattern, it can’t get much worse, right? I will not pray for the breaking, or even for failures.

But Lord, I do just want You to have Your way. And that’s all I’m willing to say.